Sustainability and Transformation leaders confirmed

Reading Time: 4 minutes

Senior figures from across health and care who will be leading work on Sustainability and Transformation Plans (STP) within their ‘footprint’ area have been confirmed today.

The recently-announced 44 STP footprints are geographic areas that will bring local health and care leaders, organisations and communities together to develop local blueprints for improved health, care and finances over the next five years, delivering the NHS Five Year Forward View.

These are individuals who command both the support of their local colleagues and the national leadership bodies of the NHS, and whose efforts alongside colleagues will collectively help transform health and care over the next few years.

The leaders come from a good mix of backgrounds, and include provider chief executives, CCG accountable officers, local authority senior leaders and clinicians, recognising the need for local systems to work in partnership. There is also good representation from both genders – around a third are women.

There are just three areas where a leader is still to be confirmed, and conversations are ongoing.

The leaders are:


Footprint STP footprint lead
Northumberland, Tyne and Wear Mark Adams (Chief Officer, Newcastle Gateshead CCG)
West, North and East Cumbria Stephen Eames (Chief Executive, North Cumbria University Hospitals NHS Trust)
Durham, Darlington and Tees, Hambleton, Richmondshire and Whitby Alan Foster (Chief Executive, North Tees and Hartlepool NHS Foundation Trust)
Lancashire and South Cumbria Dr Amanda Doyle OBE (Chief Clinical Officer, Blackpool CCG)
West Yorkshire Rob Webster (Chief Executive designate, South West Yorkshire Partnership NHS Foundation Trust)
Coast, Humber and Vale TBC
Greater Manchester Sir Howard Bernstein (Chief Executive, Manchester City Council)
Cheshire and Merseyside Louise Shepherd (Chief Executive, Alder Hey Children’s NHS Foundation Trust)
South Yorkshire and Bassetlaw Sir Andrew Cash OBE  (Chief Executive, Sheffield Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust)


Kent & Medway Glenn Douglas (Chief Executive, Maidstone and Tunbridge Wells NHS Trust)
Sussex and East Surrey Michael Wilson (Chief Executive, Surrey and Sussex Healthcare NHS Trust)
Frimley Health Sir Andrew Morris (Chief Executive, Frimley Health NHS Foundation Trust)
Surrey Heartlands Julia Ross (Chief Executive, North West Surrey CCG)
Cornwall and the Isles of Scilly TBC
Devon Angela Pedder OBE (Chief Executive, Royal Devon and Exeter NHS Foundation Trust)
Somerset Dr Matthew Dolman (Chair, Somerset CCG)
Bristol, North Somerset, South Gloucestershire Robert Woolley (Chief Executive, University Hospitals Bristol NHS Foundation Trust)
Bath, Swindon and Wiltshire James Scott (Chief Executive, Royal United Hospitals Bath NHS Foundation Trust)
Dorset Tim Goodson (Chief Officer, Dorset CCG)
Hampshire and the Isle of Wight Richard Samuel (Chief Officer,  Fareham and Gosport CCG, South Eastern Hampshire CCG)
Gloucestershire Mary Hutton (Accountable Officer, Gloucestershire CCG)
Buckinghamshire, Oxfordshire and Berkshire West David Smith (Chief Executive, Oxfordshire CCG)

Midlands and East

Staffordshire John MacDonald (Chair, University Hospitals North Midlands NHS Trust)
Shropshire and Telford and Wrekin Simon Wright (Chief Executive, Shrewsbury and Telford Hospital NHS Trust)
Derbyshire Gary Thompson (Chief Officer, Southern Derbyshire CCG)
Lincolnshire Allan Kitt (Chief Officer, South West Lincolnshire CCG)
Nottinghamshire David Pearson (Director, Adult Social Care, Nottinghamshire County Council)
Leicester, Leicestershire and Rutland Toby Sanders (Accountable Officer, West Leicestershire CCG)
The Black Country Andy Williams (Accountable Officer, Sandwell West Birmingham CCG)
Birmingham and Solihull Mark Rogers (Chief Executive, Birmingham City Council)
Coventry and Warwickshire Andy Hardy (Chief Executive, University Hospitals Coventry and Warwickshire NHS Trust)
Herefordshire and Worcestershire Sarah Dugan (Chief Executive, Worcestershire Health and Care NHS Trust)
Northamptonshire John Wardell (Accountable Officer, Nene CCG)
Cambridgeshire and Peterborough Dr Neil Modha (Chief Clinical Officer, Cambridgeshire and Peterborough CCG)
Norfolk and Waveney TBC
Suffolk and North East Essex Nick Hulme (Chief Executive, Ipswich Hospital NHS Trust)
Milton Keynes, Bedfordshire and Luton Pauline Philip (Chief Executive, Luton & Dunstable University Hospital NHS Foundation Trust)
Hertfordshire and West Essex Beverley Flowers (Accountable Officer, East and North Hertfordshire CCG)
Mid and South Essex Dr Anita Donley (Independent Chair for Mid and South Essex Success Regime from 1st April)


North West London Dr Mohini Parmar (Chair, Ealing CCG)
North Central London David Sloman (Chief Executive, Royal Free London NHS Foundation Trust)
North East London Jane Milligan (Chief Officer, Tower Hamlets CCG)
South East London Amanda Pritchard (Chief Executive, Guy’s and St Thomas’ NHS Foundation Trust)
South West London Kathryn Magson (Chief Officer, Richmond CCG)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *